Sorority celebrates diamond anniversary with fundraiser

Heidi Otway (left) and Kara Palmer Smith
Photo submitted

By Joe Ann Houston,
Special to the Outlook

The Tallahassee Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. recently hosted its scholarship fundraiser. This being the chapter’s diamond anniversary, the theme for the event was “The Year of the Diamond:  A Virtual Scholarship Ungala.”

 The event, which took place on March 26, was seen by a virtual audience.

The scholarship fundraiser is a biennial event for the alumnae chapter, which raised more than $100,000 through events in 2020. That year the organization awarded the first named endowed scholarships – Gayla Parks State Farm, Alice Griffin Thompson and Elsie Crowell. 

Following the 2020 fundraiser, the chapter increased the number of scholarships and awarded the first multi-year scholarships to Conqualla Scott (Florida State University) and Taryn Henry (Tennessee State University). The second multi-year scholarship was awarded in 2021 to Arsha Harris (University of South Florida). 

Since 2020, the chapter has awarded more than $100,000 in scholarships. 

The evening’s program began with the lively sounds of DJ Breeze whose mixture of R&B, soul and hip-hop provided smooth transitions between segments of the evening’s program.  A highlight of the evening’s program was testimonials from former and current scholarship recipients – Amber Tookes, Jessica Bouyer, LaNiyah Lee, and Jordan Hines.  

 The featured entertainment of the evening was local vocalist Lili Forbes, who performed renditions of “Don’t Hold Back” and “You Gotta Be.”  

As a tribute to the 75th anniversary, another segment provided facts about the chapter’s history. A little-known fact is the Tallahassee Alumnae Chapter was chartered as the Gamma Eta Sigma Graduate Chapter on Oct. 3, 1946. 

Donations during the event totaled $71,000. 

Subscribing and Annual Sorors: Hazel Bolden and Dr. Janelle R. Baker.

Golden Sorors: Amaris Johnson, Ayasha Scott, Beverly Barrington, Carolyn Cummings, Cheryl Anderson, Dr. Delores Lawson, Dorcas Washington, Doris Maloy, Doris Corbett, Dr. Gloria Holmes, Gwendolyn Norton, Dr. Joe Ann Houston, Kara Palmer Smith, Dr. Kelley Bailey, LaWanda Warren, Laureatte Scott, Lillian Davis, Lorene Wilson, Lois Scott, Dr. Lula Banks, Dr. Marcia Owens, Dr. Marie Mattox, Marilyn Henderson, Mary Wells, Dr. NaQuita Nelson, Renisha Gibbs, Rita Brown, Dr. Saundra Drumming, Sylvia Petties, Dr. Valencia Matthews, and Dr. Yolanda Bogan.  

Crimson Sorors: Alicia Tookes, Audrey Simmons Smith, Brandi Tatum-Fedrick, Cassandra Brown, Ceceka Rose Green, Cheryl Bouyer, Harriet Williams, Heidi Otway, Janis Edwards, Karen Rose, Linda Bond Edwards, Dr. Shamarial Roberson, Dr. Tamaria Williams, Terraca Jones, Timisha Brooks Black, Tonja Smith and Wallisa Cobb.

Crème Sorors: Brandi Newkirk, Jeanne Freeman, Kimberly Black, Patricia Clem, Dr. Patricia Manning, Sandra Pridgen, Tian Owens, Trenice Seniors, Vanda Jenkins, Veta Mobley-Johnson and Vernell McCray.

NOTE: Terraca Jones is president of the Tallahassee Alumnae Chapter. The Fundraising Committee is chaired by Kara Palmer Smith.  

Warning: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /data/11/0/112/52/764704/user/782211/htdocs/site/wp-content/themes/dialy-theme/includes/single/post-info.php on line 4