FSU’s Chuck Walsh receives U.S. Basketball writers award

USBWA president Luke DeCock (left) presented the Katha Quinn Award to Chuck Walsh of FSU.
Photo submitted

FSU Sports Information 

INDIANAPOLIS – In his fourth decade as a college basketball sports-information director, Florida State’s Chuck Walsh has been named the U.S. Basketball Writers Association’s Katha Quinn Award winner for 2023. 

He was presented the award last Monday at the NCAA men’s basketball Final Four in Houston.

During the summer of 2020, as the USBWA and CoSIDA (now College Sports Communicators) held discussions on media protocols during the COVID-19 pandemic ahead of the 2020-21 basketball season, Walsh played a key role in negotiating and reinforcing policies supported by the USBWA to retain as much access and availability given the health and safety concerns.

“Chuck’s a throwback who sees his role as facilitating access to his program instead of managing or restricting it,” said USBWA president Luke DeCock, a sports columnist at The (Raleigh, NC) News & Observer. “He’s not only dedicated to his players and coaches but to connecting journalists with his program. He still pitches ideas to writers and cares deeply about those relationships. Everyone knows Florida State is a football school at heart, but you’d never know it talking to Chuck, who makes sure the basketball team gets the attention it deserves.”

The award is presented by the USBWA in memory of Katha Quinn, sports information director at St. John’s University who supervised basketball media services during the 1987 Pan American Games despite a diagnosis of liver cancer. Quinn died at the age of 34, more than two years after the diagnosis. The award is given to recognize those in college basketball who have rendered a special service to the USBWA and sportswriters who cover college basketball.

“I am honored and humbled to be named the 2023 Katha Quinn Award recipient,” Walsh said.  “There are a number of reasons this award means so much to me, but perhaps none bigger than when I look at the list of past recipients, I see names from basketball powerhouses like North Carolina, Louisville, UConn, and the Big East Conference and NCAA. Now, Florida State has its place on that list – a testament to the program that Leonard Hamilton and his staff and players have built in Tallahassee.”

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. With some 900 members worldwide, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. It has selected an All-America team since the 1956-57 season.

Warning: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /data/11/0/112/52/764704/user/782211/htdocs/site/wp-content/themes/dialy-theme/includes/single/post-info.php on line 4