Sorority provides scholarships to 17 outstanding students in Tallahassee



AKASpecial to the Outlook

The Delta Kappa Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated and the Delta Kappa Omega Foundation awarded $16,500 in scholarships to 17 outstanding high school seniors at their 2016 Scholarship and Awards Reception held on Saturday, May 7, at the Delta Kappa Omega Providence Community Service Center in Tallahassee. The 2016 Scholarship Award recipients are: Tanner Adkison (Godby), Ayesha Bennett (Godby), Ayanna Chukes (Godby), Carmen Grant (Lincoln), Taylar Hall (Lincoln), Megan Hayes (Lincoln), Zenani Johnson (Rickards), Jermanie Lewis (Rickards), Phillip Lucas (Leon), Megan Monroe (Rickards), Anthony Reaves Jr. (Leon), Brianna Terry (Godby), Moriah Treadwell (Chiles), Genesis Triplett (Rickards), Ryan Whitlow (Lincoln), Kaleigh Wingate (Lincoln), and Asantewaa Yamoah (Lincoln). These students had at least a 3.0 cumulative grade point average, demonstrated leadership skills, and volunteered many hours in the community for various organizations and events.
To celebrate this event, award recipients, their parents, school officials, family and friends were treated to a special program by the Delta Kappa Omega Chapter. Program participants included 2nd Vice President Dr. Selika Sampson (Presider), Ms. Kristin Green, Mrs. Gwen Worlds, Dr. Beulah Hemmingway, Ms. Kara Irby, Ms. Jerion Fitz, Mrs. Arlecia Harris, 1st Vice President Ms. Tiffany A. Randolph (Speaker), Scholarship and Awards Chairman Dr. Shirley A. Jones, Scholarship and Awards Co-Chairman Mrs. Jackie Goodman, and President Ms. Vettye Gibbs. The event theme was “Making A Difference: I Can…I Will!” Special recognition was given to the parents for a job well done, and to Principal Mr. Doug Cook (Rickards), and Assistant Principal Ms. Deshone Hedrington (Leon) for inspiring students to reach their maximum potential.


Chapter and Foundation scholarships are awarded each year to qualifying Leon County seniors. Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Incorporated is an international organization of women, founded in 1908 at Howard University with a membership of more than 280,000 globally. For additional information, please contact Ms. Vettye Gibbs, Delta Kappa Omega Chapter President at, or Dr. Shirley A. Jones, Scholarship and Awards Committee Chairman at